Masthead header
Adobe Photoshop PDF



Nikolai Medtner {1880 – 1951}
from Six Fairy Tales, Op. 51 (ca. 1928)

1.   Fairy Tale No. 3 – Allegretto tranquillo e grazioso (3:48)

Pyotr Tchaikovsky {1840 – 1893}

2.   Dumka, op. 59 (Scenes from a Russian Village) (8:14)

Nutcracker Suite (arr. for solo piano by Mikhail Pletnev)

3. March (1:52)
4. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy (1:41)
5. Tarantella (1:19)
6. Intermezzo (Journey through the Snow) (4:07)
7. Russian Trepak (1:18)
8.  Chinese Dance (1:25)
9.  Andante maestoso (Pas de Deux) (5:24)

Modest Mussorgsky {1839 – 1881}
Pictures at an Exhibition (1874)

10. Promenade: Allegro giusto, nel modo russo; senza allegrezza, ma poco sostenuto (1:26)
11. Gnomus: Sempre vivo (2:17)
12. Promenade: Moderato commodo assai e con delicatezza (0:51)
13. Il vecchio Castello: Andantino molto cantabile e con dolore (3:49)
14. Promenade: Moderato non tanto, pesamente (0:27)
15. Les Tuileries (Dispute d’enfants après jeux): Allegretto non troppo, capriccioso (0:57)
16. Bydlo: Sempre moderato, pesante (2:33)
17. Promenade: Tranquillo (0:47)
18. Ballet of the Unhatched Chicks: Scherzino (Vivo, leggiero) (1:08)
19. Samuel Goldenberg & Schmuÿle: Andante. Grave, Energico – Andantino – Andante. Grave (2:15)
20. Limoges. Le marché (La grande nouvelle): Allegretto vivo, sempre scherzando (1:26)
21. Catacombæ (Sepulcrum romanum): Largo (1:24)
22. Cum mortuis in lingua mortua: Andante non troppo, con lamento (1:37)
23. The Hut on Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yagá): Allegro con brio, feroce – Andante mosso – Allegro molto (3:25)
24. The Great Gate of Kiev: Allegro alla breve. Maestoso. Con grandezza (4:54)

Total Time: 58:25

SKU: LP1027 Category:

Product Description

Born in Vladimir, Russia into a family of professional musicians, Oxana Mikhailoff began studying piano with her mother at the age of five. By the time she was eight, Ms. Mikhailoff had already won an international Young Artists Competition in Czechoslovakia, despite her being the competition’s youngest participant in the 8 to 16-year age category.  That same year, she was selected to attend the Central Music School for Gifted Children in Moscow where she studied for ten years with Anaida Sumbatian (teacher of Vladimir Ashkenazy and Oxana Yablonskaya) and Vera Gornostaeva. Ms. Mikhailoff subsequently studied at the Moscow Conservatory under Professor Vladimir Krainev and at the Manhattan School of Music with Professor Philip Kawin.  She also studied with Maestro Vladimir Feltsman.

Oxana Mikhailoff pursued an active performing career throughout Russia and Europe as a recitalist, concert soloist and chamber musician. Her United States debut took place at Carnegie Hall in 1999.  She later returned to Carnegie Hall to play an all-Chopin recital on the 150th anniversary of the composer’s death. She also performed in three seasons with the Greenwich Symphony under Maestro David Gilbert. In each instance she received the highest critical acclaim. Ms. Mikhailoff also played Chopin’s E minor concerto under Maestro Vladimir Feltsman.

Recognized by the legendary Martha Argerich as an extraordinary talent, Ms. Mikhailoff has developed a vast repertoire extending from Baroque to modern-day composers including solo works, chamber music and 31 piano concertos. This Russian-born American pianist was honored with the Second Prize at the Martha Argerich International Piano Competition in August 2003, her eleventh international competition prize. Ms. Mikhailoff subsequently performed in the Martha Argerich festival in the world famous opera house, Teatro Colón de Buenos Aires.  She and Ms. Argerich toured together throughout Argentina.

Ms. Mikhailoff graduated from the Manhattan School of Music in 2003 with a Masters of Music degree. Upon graduation she was awarded the prestigious Harold Bauer Prize, an honor bestowed upon the most promising talent of that institution. She also holds a B.A. from the Moscow Conservatory of Music.

Ms. Mikhailoff maintains an active teaching studio in Westchester County less than one-half hour from New York City.  She is the Artistic Director of the Midland Music Professional Concert Series in Bronxville, NY.

Additional Information

Order Album

320Kb MP3, Compact Disk, FLAC – Lossless


There are no reviews yet.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *